Thursday, October 20, 2011

Book Review: A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas by Erica Vetsch/4 Stars

About the book:

Quench your craving for good fiction with this wonderfully written Old West adventure.

Hoping to leave the shadows of her shady yesteryears behind, Adeline Reed is focusing on her photography career. But when her ex-boyfriend’s compatriot in crime shows up in Dodge City her entire past is threatened by exposure. Can Addie keep her secrets while helping to catch a killer?

Deputy Miles Carr’s investigation into a shopkeeper’s murder leads him to Addie’s door. Will his attraction to this female photographer keep him from catching the true culprit? Or will Addie lead him off course in more ways than one?

My thoughts:

What do you get when you have a talented female photographer, a newly-minted town deputy, and a scoundrel of the worst sort who has come back to haunt you?  You get this book--A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas--and it's a good'un, too.

I was so impressed with the detail of Addie's trade as a photographer.  From the darkroom, to her studio, and to the portraits taken at the Arden Palace, it felt like I was looking through the camera lens and capturing all the subtle nuances that only a portrait can show.  I could smell the chemicals that were used to develop the pictures, and I caught myself mentally counting the seconds along with Addie to get the right exposure.  Now, in real life, I don't have a clue about photography, but just for a few moments in this book, I felt like I knew a thing or two...and that brought a smile to my face.

Miles was an enjoyable character, too.  At first, it seemed like he was going to be green as the day is long at being a deputy, but he quickly settled into his role.  His reluctance to share his past was believable, especially how it related to Addie.

Then, there was the drama associated with Vin Rutter.  He came to Dodge City for a particular reason, and caused nothing but trouble for Addie, Miles, and Fran while he was there.  I felt sure the I had him pegged correctly the entire time, but leave it to this talented author to have a surprise or two up her sleeve.  :o)

Nothing gives me more pleasure than discovering an author that I've not been privileged to read before.  Erica Vetsch has created a delightful Midwestern tale that is sure to have me returning to read her future novels.  Fans of Mary Connealy, Kelly Eileen Hake, and Susan Page Davis are destined to enjoy this charming story!

4 Stars

Southern?  No
Sass?  Yes

**Many thanks to Barbour through NetGalley for providing a copy for review.



3 comments:

  1. Gosh! I've not heard of this author... the books sounds really good though.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Christy! Thanks for the find! This sounds like a good book! I'm adding it to my goodreads list ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi Christy! Me again...wanted to let you know that I've nominated you for the "Tell Me About Yourself" Blog Award over at http://gwendolyngage.blogspot.com/. Congratulations!

    ReplyDelete

I love me some comments!! They make me happier than cold sweet tea on a hot summer day! :o)